You are not alone. I’m here.

I wish I could tell you that your anxiety will completely go away. Kind of like a cold or the flu. That after a few weeks you will forget about it and move on with your life. Unfortunately, that hasn’t been true for me. I have weeks, even months where I feel almost completely normal, and then all of a sudden my anxiety is just as bad as it was in the beginning. Each time it is a little bit different and I don’t think everyones anxiety is the same. I think we all have very similar encounters or symptoms, but I don’t think that any two people have the exact same experience every time they have a panic attack. I have gone through times where I didn’t want to go out to dinner because I couldn’t get up and leave in a hurry. Where I didn’t want to take the ferry because I would be stuck in the city if I had a panic attack. Where I didn’t want to carpool because it would be too embarrassing if I had a panic attack and had to make everyone leave. Each time the anxiety or panic tries to stop you from doing what you want to do, you have to push it. You have to go out and do whatever it is that it is trying to stop you from doing. If you let it take over your life you won’t be happy. I know, I’ve been there. I’ve let it take over and it just keeps taking. Don’t let it. Each time you fight it and you accomplish what you wanted to do it makes you stronger. Go to dinner with your friends, take that bus trip, or do whatever it is that you want to do. Trust me, it will all be okay. 🙂 What are some things that your anxiety has stopped you from doing? Share your story in the comment section below.

One thought on “You are not alone. I’m here.

  1. You are a great person. I think this blog is going to help a lot of people. Keep up the good work. Your right- knowing you are not the only one is very important.

Leave a Reply

